In The Pharmacy #58 – June 2014

The 17 best tracks from the last two weeks. New music from Sweden, Norway, New Zealand, Australia, the US and Canada. Tracks from Parquet Courts, Bob Mould, Röyksopp + Robyn, Tennis, jj, Tiny Ruins, The Rich Hands, Hundred Waters, Caribou, The Faint, Saskwatch, Walter Martin, First Aid Kit, Hamilton Leithauser, The Donkeys and Craft Spells.

Walter Martin [featuring Karen O + Nick Zinner] ‘Rattlesnakes’
Former Walkmen multi-instrumentalist has enlisted a bunch of talented buddies for his kid-friendly album We’re All Young Together which has resulted in a record that should charm people of all ages.
[Walter Martin

The Rich Hands ‘I Get By’
After last episode’s ‘Other Boys’, here’s another great track from the San Antonio trio’s garage-power-pop second album Out Of My Head.
[The Rich Hands]

Röyksopp & Robyn ‘Every Little Thing’
Another great track from the brilliant mini-album collaboration between the Norwegian duo and Swedish synthpop star.

Parquet Courts ‘Black and White’
One of the highlights of this year’s Laneway festival and one of last year’s best Light Up Gold, Parquet Courts return with the new Sunbathing Animal.
[Parquet Courts]

Saskwatch ‘Left Me To Die’
Epic showstopper from the Melbourne soul band’s stunning Nose Dive album.

Bob Mould ‘Mr Grey’
Typically effusive stuff from Beauty & Ruin, the excellent follow up to Silver Age (2012).
[Bob Mould]

The Faint ‘Lesson From The Darkness’
Nebraska cold wave / dance punks have put out a a great comeback album in the shape of Doom Abuse. Here’s the closing track, following on from the previously featured ‘Evil Voices’ (ITP #55).
[The Faint

Tiny Ruins ‘She’ll Be Coming ‘Round’
Quasi-title track of the superb new album Brightly Painted One from the Kiwi trio fronted by Hollie Fullbrook.
[Tiny Ruins]

Craft Spells ‘Twirl’
After the excellent ‘Breaking the Angle Against the Tide’ (ITP #55) here’s another track from the San Franciso / Seattle band’s Nausea album (Captured Tracks), it’s breezy indie with hints of dreampop, and a tasteful guitar solo.
[Craft Spells]

Haunted Hearts ‘Love Incognito’
Dee Dee Penny (Dum Dum Girs) and Brandon Welchez (Crocodiles) have created an album of psych pop that betters either of the recent releases by their respective main projects.
[Haunted Hearts]

The Donkeys ‘Nothing’
The San Diego band’s fourth album of breezy Cali-pop Ride The Black Wave is something special indeed. This is one of many highlights and reminds me of Local Natives at their best.
[The Donkeys]

Tennis ‘Never Work For Free’
First taste of the husband and wife duo’s forthcoming third album Ritual in Repeat. Sounds like it will be a more polished and 80s sounding affair than their brilliant 2012 album Young & Old. Catchy stuff, mining a similar vein to The Preatures and Haim.

First Aid Kit ‘Waitress Song’
The Swedish folk duo seem to have tapped into a similar vein of alt country as Neko Case on this track from their forthcoming third album Stay Gold, produced once again by Mike Moggis .
[First Aid Kit]

Hundred Waters ‘Down From The Rafters’
Alt-folky meets dreampop on the track from the Gainesville band’s second album, The Moon Rang Like A Bell.
[Hundred Waters]

Hamilton Leithauser ‘Self Pity’
Another highlight from the erstwhile Walkmen frontman’s solo debut Black Hours.
[Hamilton Leithauser]

jj ‘All White Everything’
Swedish experimental pop duo return with a beautiful track from their forthcoming third album, V. This will be their first release since 2012’s mini-album High Summer.

Caribou ‘Can’t Do Without You’
Dan Snaith’s first outing as Caribou since 2010’s Swim, taken from the forthcoming album Our Love.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s