In The Pharmacy #68 – Late November 2014

The 12 best songs from the last two weeks. New music from the UK, USA, France and Finland. Killer tracks from Parkay Quarts, The Wharves, TV On The Radio, Smashing Pumpkins, The Primitives, The Heliocentrics & Melvin Van Peebeles, Mourn, Hookworms, The Dø, The Bots, Dream Police, and Zookeeper.

Parkay Quarts ‘Pretty Machines’
Another track from Parquet Courts alter-ego band. Taken from Content Nausea (Out now on What’s Your Rupture?)
[Parkay Quarts]

The Wharves ‘The Grip’
From the London three-piece’s excellent album At Bay (out now on Gringo). A mixture of 90s alt-rock, 80s post-punk and 70s prog-folk
[The Wharves]

Smashing Pumpkins ‘Tiberius’
Who’d have thought we’d be getting excited about a new Smashing Pumpkins record in 2014?
[The Smashing Pumpkins]

The Primitives ‘Lose The Reason’
…and who’d have thought a new album from The Primitives would be so good? Taken from their excellent Spin-o-rama.
[The Primitives]

TV On The Radio ‘Ride’
One of the stand out tracks from new album Seeds.
[TV On The Radio]

The Heliocentrics & Melvin Van Peebles ‘Big Bang Reincarnation’
From the best space rock concept album of 2014 The Last Transmission. This dub / sixties spy movie tinged mainly instrumental track is the album’s outlier.
[The Heliocentrics & Melvin Van Peebles

Mourn ‘Otitis’

Short blast from the Barcelona band’s self-titled album.

Hookworms ‘Beginners’
Krautrock indebted track from the band’s second album The Hum.

The Dø ‘Lick My Wounds’
French / Finnish electronic indiepop duo of Olivia Merilahti and Dan Levy (whose A Mouthful was one of the unheralded gems of 2008) return with a standout track from rather excellent new album Shake Shook Shaken.
[The Dø]

The Bots ‘Ubiquitous’
Following on from ‘All I Really Want’ (ITP #67) here’s another slice of garage punk from the Glendale, CA band’s Pink Palms album.
[The Bots]

Dream Police ‘Pouring Rain’
Another track from Mark Perro and Nick Chiericozzi’s (of Brooklyn punks The Men) spaced out psych/kraut side project. Taken from their debut album Hypnotized, out now on Sacred Bones.
[Dream Police]

Zookeeper ‘Conclusions’
Chris Simpson (formerly of Mineral) with a folky, Nick Drake indebted track from his Pink Chalk album.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s