In The Pharmacy #60 – July 2014

After the half-year Spotify best of ( ITP returns to Mixcloud with the 24 best tracks from the last few weeks. New music from the US, UK, Australia, Canada and Ireland.

Interpol ‘All The Rage Back Home’
Classic stuff from Interpol, taken from their forthcoming fifth album El Pintor, due out September 9 on Matador.

So Cow ‘Barry Richardson’
Irish indie rock band with track from their forthcoming The Long Con album, due out on Goner records in September.
[So Cow]

Courtney Barnett ‘Pickles in the Jar’
New track from CB on forthcoming Milk Records 10” compilation album. Download it for free on Soundcloud.
[Courtney Barnett]

Reigning Sound ‘My My’

A young-Van Morrison fronting the Rolling Stones vibe from the veteran Memphis garage punks, newly signed to Merge who just released their new album Shattered.
[Reigning Sound]

Speedy Ortiz ‘Bigger Party’

Nineties-indebted indie rockers follow on from February’s Real Hair EP with this new track.
[Speedy Ortiz]

Dick Diver ‘New Name Blues’
New track from Melbourne dolewave pioneers (think lo-fi early Go-Betweens meets 80s Flying Nun). This is from a one off US single on Fruits and Flowers.
[Dick Diver]

Radiator Hospital ‘Cut Your Bangs’

First featured here in July last year (ITP #37) with ‘Our Song’ (from their debut album Something Wild). Now the Philadelphia-based indie rock charmers led by Sam Cook-Parrott return with a track from their forthcoming second album Torch Song, due out next month on Salinas Records.
[Radiator Hospital]

Plague Vendor ‘Garden Lanterns’
Californian garage punks with a wonderful guitar sound (hints of the Dead Kennedys’ East Bay Ray in in the hard mix of surf, twang and psych). Taken from their fantastic 18 minute-long debut Free to Eat.
[Plague Vendor]

The New Pornographers ‘War On The East Coast’
More power-pop magnificence on this Dan Bejar-sung track from the forthcoming Brill Bruisers album.
[The New Pornographers]

Cat Power and Coldplay ‘I Wish I Was Here’
Best way to make Coldplay sound better? Get Chris Martin to shut up and let someone else sing. From the soundtrack to the new Zach Braff movie of the same name.
[Cat Power]

Spoon ‘Do You’
Second track to surface from the band’s forthcoming eighth album They Want My Soul.

Ex Hex ‘Don’t Wanna Lose’
DC veteran Mary Timony’s post-Wild Flag outfit deal in strident glam / powerpop. This follows on from February’s ‘Hot and Cold’ and is taken from their forthcoming Mitch Easter-produced Merge debut Rips (out in October).
[Ex Hex]

Wunder Wunder ‘Wonderful Way’
Ex-pat Australian production duo now based in LA with a track from their electronic psych-pop flavoured debut Everything Infinite.
[Wunder Wunder]

Cold Beat ‘OSOTW’
Hannah Lew (formerly of San Francisco’s Grass Widow) returns with ‘Other Side of The World’, the stand out track from her second Cold Beat album, Over Me (out now on Crime On The Moon).
[Cold Beat]

Alvvays ‘Next of Kin’
Sunshine indiepop from Toronto band’s self-titled album. NB: it’s pronounced Always.

Eastern Hollows ‘Northern Lad’
Anglophile Brooklyn band with a taste for janglepop, shoegaze, britpop and psych rock. From their eponymous debut album on the AC30 lablel.
[Eastern Hollows]

The Proper Ornaments ‘Step Into The Cold’
Jangling guitars and male harmonies, sounding very much like early Ride from the fourpiece fronted by songwriters James Hoare (also of Veronica Falls) and Max Claps. Taken from their debut album proper Wooden Head out now on Fortuna Pop.
[The Proper Ornaments]

The River Monks ‘I Am A Lake’
Self-described as “wistful harmonious megafolk from Des Moines, Iowa”, this is taken from their second album Home Is The House.
[The River Monks]

Jenny Lewis ‘One of the Guys’
Former Rilo Kiley frontwoman, half of Jenny and Johnny, and Postal Service member returns with The Voyager, her first solo album since 2008’s Acid Tongue. Polished, melodic pop for adults.
[Jenny Lewis]

Tweedy ‘Summer Noon’

Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy son Spencer Tweedy are about to release an album together, this track is also featured on the soundtrack to Boyhood

Blonde Redhead ‘Dripping’

The New York trio have evolved over their 21 year existence from their noiserock origins on those Touch & Go albums via the dreampop and shoegaze influenced recent releases on 4AD. Now they return, four years after Penny Sparkle with a new label (Kobalt) for ninth album Barragán and what seems like it may be something different again. The haunting instrumental No More Honey had an almost Rick Wright feel to it, while this slow but danceable number feels like it wouldn’t be out of place on a Caribou album.
[Blonde Redhead]

Burnt Palms ‘Don’t Go’
Fuzz pop from the Seaside, CA all female trio.
[Burnt Palms]

Peter Matthew Bauer ‘You Are The Chapel’

PMB’s Liberation! is the third album released by a former member of The Walkmen so far this year, following on from Hamilton Leithauser’s indie-lounge croon Black Hours and Walter Martin’s guest-star-heavy family album We’re All Young Together. Just as good and idiosyncratic as those other two releases, it’s an album informed by Eastern religion, intellectual agnosticism and Jungian psychology and has a hyper, ramshackle charm. The only good thing about the Walkmen splitting up is that we now get (so far) three great new albums instead of just the one.
[Peter Matthew Bauer]

Bat For Lashes ‘Skin Song’

Slow, glitchy number from Natasha Khan taken from Body Of Songs, a project which pairs artists with scientists to create music about a bodily organ
[Bat For Lashes]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s